About Us » Combs Education Foundation

Combs Education Foundation

Our mission
The Combs Education Foundation supports educational opportunities for students, staff, and families by funding the development and implementation of quality programs, establishing strong community partnerships, and supporting the goals of the J.O. Combs Unified School District.
We fulfill this mission by giving in three important areas:
  • Student scholarships to Combs High School Seniors
  • Classroom grants to J.O. Combs Unified School District Teachers
  • Providing essential items to the J.O. Combs Food and Clothing Bank

However, we cannot maintain and extend these opportunities without your support.  Helping our students reach their highest potential is of the utmost importance, and we hope you will consider making a tax-deductible donation to the Combs Education Foundation.

Dr. Langer Scholarship
The Dr. Langer Scholarship was established in 2017 to honor former J.O. Combs Unified School District Superintendent Dr. Jan Langer.  The scholarship is awarded to a Combs High School Senior who has met the following criteria and completed a series of essay questions.  The application opens in March. 
  • Currently have a 3.0 or above Grade Point Average
  • Be graduating from Combs High School in May 2017 and have attended CHS for more than 2 semester
  • Be attending an in-state college or university
    * Preference will be given to students indicating an interest in pursuing a degree in the field of education.
Tyler Hedstrom Memorial Scholarship
The Tyler Hedstrom Memorial Scholarship was established in 2018 in honor of Tyler Hedstrom.  The scholarship is awarded to a Combs High School Senior who intends to pursue an advanced degree in Education or Music. The application opens in March. 
Board Members

Sharon Lind, President and Chief Executive Officer of Banner Ironwood

Charles Newman, Vice President and Pastor of Crossroads Lutheran Church

Ed Boot, Secretary and Capital Manager with the Governor’s Office of Strategic Planning and Budgeting

Karla Slovitsky, Treasurer and Director of Business Services J.O. Combs Unified School District 

Gary Kemp, Member at Large and Governing Board Member of J.O. Combs Unified School District

Lester Chow, Member at Large and Civil Engineering Section Chief of Pinal County


Gayle Blanchard, Superintendent

Kelly Guerra, Executive Director

Contact us
Kelly Guerra
Executive Director
Donate Today!
Your donations are tax-deductible as a charitable contribution.  Click Donate to get started!  Or you can give a check or cash at the J.O. Combs District Office at 301 E. Combs Rd.
Giving has never been easier with partners like Amazon Smile, Fry's Rewards, and Get Away Today!  Click below to link your shopping accounts and start donating today by indicating you want to support the Combs Education Foundation
Frys Rewards
Get Away Today